Haunt Forum banner

Looking for insight on starting a haunted house

3K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  fontgeek 
#1 ·
Hello all!!

I am a police officer and have been looking for a great community policing project to undertake. Something that could bring the local police and community together in a fun positive way. I have been brain storming ideas for quite sometime when it finally dawned on me, a PD sponsored/operated haunted house! I have been a fan of horror, Halloween, and haunted houses all my life so this would be a labor of love for me but also a great relationship builder for the PD and community. I plan to charge a small/fair price, with all proceeds going to a good/charitable cause.

The city I work for/live in is a great location for a haunted house.. There are no haunted houses within an hour drive of us so I feel we could be a good draw.. We also have a few empty buildings owned by the city that would be the perfect setup for a haunted house..

I am aware of the amount of time and work that goes into a good haunt so this is not something I am remotely planning on happening this year, but something I would like to see happen Oct 2017.. I am just beginning the research phase of this now.. I stumbled upon this site and it seems to be a great resource..

I am here asking for any tips, advice, foreseeable challenges, anything you could tell me about to help me on my way.. Right now my main concern is all the redtape that haunts have to go through that I am likely oblivious to.. Insurance being a major one of these..

Any info would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance for any replies..

See less See more
#4 ·
What part of the country are you in?
Do you foresee other local "LEO's" helping out?
I'd look to local drama clubs, haunters, and business's to help on this too.