Haunt Forum banner

Fog Juice recipe

77K views 21 replies 15 participants last post by  Ron P 
#1 ·
I just did a search on here for fog juice recipes and did not come up with anything. Just wondering if anyone is using home made juice. I have been using a mix that I make for about 3 years now that seems to be as good or better than store bought kind. More importantly, its MUCH MUCH cheaper. I found it online and its ridiculously simple to make. Its just glycerine that I bought from Walgreens, and distilled water. Here is one mix I found: http://chemistry.about.com/library/weekly/aa010603c.htm

Just google fog juice recipe. There are many out there.

#4 ·
They should have taken you up on that bet. Making your own fog juice is definitely cheaper, and definitely dangerous. Store bought fog juice is made form near pharmaceutical grade chemicals, it's specifically blended to burn at fogger temperatures. One of the chemicals released if things go wrong is formaldehide (a colorless, toxic, potentially carcinogenic, water-soluble gas). I'd hazzard a guess, that if it the home made stuff seems to produce more fog than the store bought, it's because the home brew isn't mixed in the proper proportions, probably too much glycerine. It's just not worth the risk of poisoning yourself or TOTers. This topic gets brought up on every forum sooner or later, it goes hand in hand with the make your own fogger theory.

#8 ·
Ok, from the VERY SITE you linked to, here are the warnings, and they are consistant with what Vald said:
Chemistry of Smoke Machines

Part III: Atomized Glycols More of this Feature
• Part 1: Introduction & Dry Ice
• Part 2: Liquid Nitrogen
• Part 3: Atomized Glycols
• Part 4: Water Vapor

Related Resources
• Chemistry 'How-To' Guide
• How Things Work
• Weird Science
• Chemistry Articles
• Home Experiments

Elsewhere on the Web
• Making Fog Juice
• Build Your Own Fog Chiller
• Got Fog? - Build a Fog Chiller
• Homemade Iron-Based Fogger
• Fog Juice Recipe