Haunt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a newbie I'm on the look out for anything that could help me learn and make me better at haunting. Now I think there was a sort of book list on here already but it wasn't quiet what I was thinking of.

That being said what books have helped you in your haunting lives or changed the way you viewed your haunt. Don't limit your self to just books on haunting.

I.E.
Drawing for dummies
Feng shui for dummies

·
Registered
2,139 Posts
There are also plenty of books on building props for the stage/theater, lighting, and architecture and history that can let you fine tune your period or style. Look at books on home wiring, carpentry, plumbing, painting, faux finishes, etc. There are also books on garden mazes, crowd control, fire safety, makeup, set painting, airbrushing, cement work, masonry, anatomy, casting, prosthetic makeup, mortuary science, foley work, recording, sound system design, party planning, event management, sculpting, air conditioning and ductwork, and all kinds of specialized fields.
A lot really depends upon what your needs are for skills an theme(s).

·
Registered
2,139 Posts
I guess the question ends up being whether your bigger need is inspiration, or the "How-To" end of things. For me, like many, the inspiration is the easy part, it's the understanding/knowledge on how to go about creating it that ends up being the challenge.
Don't get me wrong, I love the movies too, but for out and out knowledge they tend to leave a bit to be desired.

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Oi your all missing the point of a list.