Haunt Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
898 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I Finally went out to Sears tonight and bought my first air compressor. Obcourse it's a Craftsman I went for the 15 Gallon maintenance free model 1.5HP I think this should be more then enough for my yard haunt or at least for now. I Only plan to run 3 or 4 props for this year. So now the big question being I am a beginner with Pneumatics do you think this is a good compressor for my needs? I have heard of people using 3 or 4 props on a 5 gallon tank let me know what you think. Thanks all :jol:

·
Registered
437 Posts
BobC - congrats on getting a SEARS product..... a wise haunter on another list advised me to go with Sears a few years back and it has been a GREAT unit. Mine is a 30 gallon and so far I've only asked it to run three props at the same time, but it handles those with ease so I'm sure it could to more. When someone says they ran multiple props off of a small compressor like you said, they would have had to use a reservoir tank at each prop or it would have constantly been trying to recharge itself. In other words, the compressor feeds a tank at each prop so that when the prop triggers, it takes the air from the reservoir, not constantly out of the compressor itself.
Anyway, I think you'll be fine running three props from your CP without reservoir tanks, based on what I've seen mine do. It may kick in frequently to refill the tank, so you'll want to locate the tank as far from the haunt as possible to keep the CP noise away. Have fun!

·
Registered
1,908 Posts
Yes, congrats indeed BobC on getting your first compressor. You're going to enjoy that purchase. Don't forget there are plenty of Halloween uses for a compressor beyond powering your props. I purchased a cheap airbrush a couple of years ago and upgraded to a Paasche this past year. Airbrushes are big fun to learn to use.

·
Registered
898 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Compressor Help