Haunt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Humanitarian of the Year
4,241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
"Bulking out" is a term used in the polymer clay world that means creating a substrate underneath your clay projects that allows the sculptor to reduce the amount needed for a project. Generally, per 1/4" of thickness of clay, a baking time of 15 minutes is required for best results. There are two types of armatures that exist - removable and non-removable. Below is a way that I found to make cornstarch packing peanut armatures easy to remove thus creating hollow clay sculptures. A step by step is probably not necessary but they are easy for me to follow.

How to make an easily removable only if you need to make a hollow polymer clay sculpture. Please read notes first at the bottom.

Before I get started, I am not a pro at this. If anyone has a suggestion please let me know - thanks in advance.

Materials:

• Cornstarch packing peanuts - they have to be cornstarch
  • Latex gloves
  • Cup of water
  • a work surface that can get messy
  • common sense
Steps:

1. resist eating the peanuts - they are supposedly OK to accidentally consume but don't eat a bowl of them. i tried one just because (and too much PBR) and it tastes like unleavened bread.
  2. put the gloves on
  3. grab some packing peanuts
  4. dip fingers in water
    • use as little water as possible because you can always add more but too much will ruin the peanuts.
    • a little water will make the cornstarch pliable and sticky.
  5. work the peanuts around in your fingers as you carefully wet it down into a rough shape of your sculpture. this material MIGHT expand so experiment with the next step.
  6. when done, let the peanut glob air dry out.
  7. sculpt your clay around it
  8. bake clay according to the manufacturer instructions (see note below)