Haunt Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone and greetings again from across the pond (NL),

A couple of weeks ago I posted a report of a haunt I did in my hometown. It was quite complex (I'm still a beginner) but people really liked it. In the end it won me first prize. It was a cheque for the local Home Depot we have here. I wasn't too sure however if I'd do a haunt next year. I mean its a lot of work and it should be more spectacular.

In the end I decided I'd do a haunt this year. I already had some idea's. I knew I wanted to do something with water, projections and pirates. A local theme park opened a ride themed to the story of the Flying Dutchman (Wiki). The ride itself isn't very good. I just find some concepts of it very spectacular and would like to translate them to my own haunt.

Let me show you two very abstract sketchup models.

In my first rough idea's I had two projections during the show. The first one is still in the final plan, the second one has been scratched. I really wanted to project something on a water curtain. But that would mean I'd have to loan another beamer (I'm going to purchase one myself) from friends, I'd rather not do that with beamers being very expensive and all. Second thing is due to the position of the water curtain (you can see its position very well when you look at the top view image) I can never get the visitors to see a clear and sharp image (so far as diy screens can do) since they're so close. So I've scratched that idea. It'll just be water poring down in a rain like fashion with lighting and smoke effects to simulate fire (instead of a projection).