Haunt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was downloading our local version of the yellow pages to my computer at work the other day and it randomly brought up an ad for a local denture maker.
I am trying Spookyblu's paper mache ground breakers this year and have to make my own paper mache skulls. The hardest part to get right is the mouth for and the teeth. So on a whim i called a couple of the denture places and explained what I was doing. Three of them hung up on me (and I am sure they reported me to the police) but one guy called me back and gave me 30 sets of old dentures that he was going to throw out. So now I have a 17 sets of upperrs and 13 lowers. I stuck my 1st set into a styro head and started macheing(sp?) over it and it looks fantastic!.
Just thought i would throw this out as a suggestion because it paid off well for me.
BTW I am a newbie to this forum. YOU GUYS ROCK. I am going to steal lots of ideas from you.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Way to go Joe! Your right, the mouth and teeth are so hard to do. I've been using the little wood chips that are left on the ground after cutting lumber. I just sand them down a little bit. Thanks for having the guts and patience to call those dentists and asking your wierd question.

IN GUTS WE TRUST

·
Registered
723 Posts
For teeth I have used hot glue dripped/smeared on a non-stick surface such as foil or wax paper.

I like the suggestion of dentures - that would look much more authentic.

·
In Remembrance
7,646 Posts
Great thinking, sometimes you need to think out of the box. This comes under the heading of "you dont know until you ask".

·
Registered
898 Posts
I wonder if Polident is an adhesive option for keeping them in the skulls mouth? lol :jol: