Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings!

Ok, so first off, my name isn't Gus. It's Scott, but I wanted to have a Halloween inspired name and "Scary Scott" sounded too hokey (not to mention the similarity to Scary Terry).

So now the good stuff...I have been doing a yard haunt for the past 4 years. The first year we were living with my In-Laws (which I DO get along with). It was a very simple setup on their front porch with a black light and some spray painted bedsheets. I dressed up and sat in a chair and waited for TOT's. I stayed motionless while the little ones went up to the bowl I had set out while their parents stared at me wondering if I was real or not. Some parents walked up with there kids and were admiring all the decor while chatting on their cell phones. They usually jumped out of their skin when I reached out and grabbed their arm. Or else, I wouldn't do anything until they started walking away at which point I would say "Happy Halloween".

Since then, I have moved into my own home and am in the process of building up a more elaborate display. I have been using my Garage instead of the lawn, but I hope to start my graveyard this year using what I have learned cruising through the web. I'm going to work on simpler static props this year like tombstones and hopefully a cemetary fence ala Raven Manor. Next year I want to build a crypt with an FCG and start on some other animated props.

My ultimate goal is to create a walk-through display that will start in the graveyard on the front lawn and end with a vortex in the backyard. I think the most difficult part of the whole project will be where to store everything the rest of the year.