Haunt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

A newbie here.

I have an air driven motor, which consumes something like 27 cfm at 80 psi. I found an air compressor within my budget which has a max psi rating of 220 psi and a flow rate of 2.5 cfm (at max psi).

Now I'm not sure if that air compressor can deliver the required 27 cfm at 80 psi (2.5 cfm @ 220 psi is the only spec they have). So my question is this, can I put a decent sized tank between my motor and air compressor, and pressurize the tank to a little bit higher than 80 psi, to have the tank act as a buffer and deliver any additional cfm not being able to be delivered by the compressor ?

·
Registered
159 Posts
Well, yes and no.

I have not figured air usage and stuff like this out for years, but this is I how I remember it. Hopefully someone who knows more than I do will jump in and correct my errors.

27 cfm is a LOT of air. 27 cfm is about 200 gallons a minute. You could but a large tank in the middle and pump it up to...say 150 psi, and this would supply your needs for a little while. But you're talking about a couple of minutes of continuous use before the tank runs dry. Probably a lot less than 1 minute of use before the tank pressure drops too low-if that long. And I am talking about a 100+ gallon tank.

That small compressor will run for around 12-15 minutes to pump up the tank enough to get 6 seconds of run time. If your looking at anything near continuous use at 27 cfm, then your looking a big, expensive, two-stage compressor. You're probably looking at a minimum of at least a 7-½-10 hp compressor. I would go with something even larger.

Sorry, but I have to ask what on earth your looking at using that big of an air motor for?

Just moving that much air will create a lot of noise from the air movement alone. If you try to dump that much air out a ½ inch line you will be able to hear it for at lease a city block away.