Haunt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
4,872 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to make a "buy" on a fairly large qty. of LED's and battery clips. Can anyone tell me where and from whom they get theirs now? I know that some have recommended cwithk on ebay, and I have also seen besthongkong having some similar if not better deals. Anyone ever dealt with either of these two? also, I want to buy a batch of 9 volt battery clips, but the best price I can seem to come up with is 4 for a $1. Is that about right?

·
Registered
35 Posts
Zombie- F...total newby question...I'm going to start this year with the LEDs and still need to study up more, but I want to order soon...the Hong Kong site is great, but confusing...could you give me the stats on what would be a general size? got the 5mm part...would be using them for eye props, eyes in bushes etc...thanks,
Lisa

·
Premium Member
5,858 Posts
5mm is the size of them. Their eBay store is a little confusing, but if you browse through their listings, you can find most 5mm LEDs in all colors and in quantities of 50, 100, 500 and 5000.

The MCD number that they list denotes brightness. The higher this number, the brighter the LED.

Also, look in each listing for the DC Forward Voltage (which is usually 3.4 V for their LEDs) and the current for all the LEDs I've ordered from them is 30 mA.

With those numbers in hand pick what size battery you're going to use (I usually use 9v because of their small size). Then, you can calculate what size resistor and how the circuit will be wired with a useful resource found here.

Just type the numbers into the fields in the form, check off "wiring diagram" and click "design my array". It will spit out what size resistor to use and how-to hook it all up.

·
Premium Member
5,858 Posts
I always just get my clips from Radio Shack. I should source out a better place than that though. There has to be someplace that sells them cheaper than they do.

·
Registered
4,872 Posts