Haunt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 117 Posts

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there. I'm a newbie to electrical circuitry, but I have done some simple projects with LEDs and 9v Batteries. I am making a bunch of LED spots and was wondering how difficult it would be to somehow control them so that they dim and different LEDs are light at different times. I'd like to do some sort of sequence where my cemetery is all dark and then the warm whites come on, then maybe some different colored spots to add drama. I'm thinking something like the x-mas lights to music, but on a much simpler scale. I've just started looking into arduinos and I have my first basic circuitry class this week.

·
Registered
385 Posts
If you just want to turn them on and off by controlling them with an Arduino, then it's pretty simple. Dimming is more sophisticated. I suggest for your first project you group the colors of lights into different groups; start with them all off, turn on your whites, then your other colors when you want.

One of the other users here found a relay board for a great price:
http://www.futurlec.com/Opto_Relay_4.shtml

With one of these and an Arduino, you can control four lights, or four sets of lights. Have it use the relays to turn the power to the lights on and off. You could also have the Arduino play a music track as well, if you're willing to work out the timing and put it into the code.

·
Registered
27 Posts