Haunt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,858 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just curious, who else here has taken a stab at planting their own pumpkins this year? My plants are a few weeks old now and are doing well. The vines should start flowering pretty soon.

Anyone else doing this too?

·
Registered
59 Posts
I've been planting pumpkins for a few years now. My plants are lookin good, and should flower any day now.
I think the rest of my garden gets mad at how much time I spend on my pumpkins.

·
Premium Member
5,858 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey krypt, I think your plants are developing powdery mildew. The grey splotches on the leaves look like powdery mildew. What time of day do you water them?

Also, you're at a key time in the fruit's development when slugs will start being drawn to your pumpkins. If at all possible, get some sand and lay out a ring of sand around each pumpkin to prevent slugs from being able to get to your fruit.

·
Banned
764 Posts
Those are spots from the rain and they come and go .... i have the slugs covered sand? .....Salt ever poured salt on a slug not a pretty sight.

·
Premium Member
5,858 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Those are spots from the rain and they come and go .... i have the slugs covered sand? .....Salt ever poured salt on a slug not a pretty sight.
Good. It was hard to tell if it was grey splotches or just moisture. July/August is where the powdery mildew does start to rear its ugly head, so try and avoid watering near the evening. The moisture on the leaves overnight is a perfect breeding ground for fungus, which is what powdery mildew is.

There are also fungucides that help prevent it. Don't know if you're trying to go organic or not. I don't eat my pumpkins, so I have no issue with using fungucides. I always wind up with powdery mildew otherwise.