Haunt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
842 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I had bought some grey sparkle tulle for a project and had a few yards left over so I laid the long piece of it all twisted and fluffed across the mantle (among the halloween decorations, with care around the candles) for our party a couple years ago. Then this year set our spookytown pieces on it and it created an almost fog-like look when pulled up and puffed in places.

I have a lot of the stuff from our drumcorps' colorguard, all kinds of colors. So I have been using it for a few years to pad up and hide things on my props, like the pvc and necks of my witches and to create colored contents in my cauldrons (by itself or mixed in with the previous year's stretch webbing to look all foamy).

So when it came to adding bits and flourishes to the yard just before Halloween I took pieces and hung them from the trees. The effect was wonderful. Especially as you followed around behind one tree to the graveyard. It helped diffuse the view and the lights showed thru' it with an almost fog-like haziness. The stuff from the colorguard already has fishing weights sewn into the corners, so all I had to do was toss the end over a branch and it stayed in place. The weights also held it down so that it waved a bit in the wind, but didn't blow out of position. When I doubled it, the effect was even better as the diffusion was increased.

All of the tulle I had worked well, but the sparkle kind had that extra added effect. There are 2 kinds of netting, one has larger holes, like the kind wound up for a kitchen (not bath;) ) scrubby and is usually used to fluff out dresses like for square dancing. The other has very small holes and is also used under and over dresses, especially gowns.

The regular netting runs around $0.77 a yard and the sparkle kind a $1 a yard at our Walmart. I got several bolts of it once when it was knocked down to $0.20 a yard on sale!