Haunt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm a total newbie when it comes to electronics. I mean, I use them every day in my life but have never actually tried to understand how they work. Well, that's starting to change. I've been reading a bit about electronics and have been trying to understand enough to make a very, very simple halloween decoration. Essentially I just want to make a decoration that lights up when someone walks by. Probably easy for those out there who have been messing with electronics for a while but for me.. eh, I'm kind of stuck.

I understand how the breadboard works and have bought one to play with. I understand how LEDs work with resistors in parallel. I have those working on the breadboard just fine. The problem I'm running into is with the PIR motion sensor.

The PIR sensor I have is this one:
http://i56.tinypic.com/14wggms.jpg

As you can see, it's just three little pins and they're all too close together to actually put into the breadboard. I have the jumper wires, but I have no idea how to make these wires stay on those pins. I have no idea how to solder and right now I don't really want to solder as I'm still playing with everything and learning (and not ready to fully commit).

I'm also now 100% sure in which way this thing is supposed to be hooked up.

Without being able to actually hook it up in its current condition, I don't really know if it'll work like I have drawn it. I would assume it would, but it might need a positive input as well. In that case, it would probably go something like this:

It obviously has three pins: +, -, and an output. To complicate matters I have an on/off switch already hooked up and working.

Do I hook the PIR sensor up like this?