Haunt Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, so I've been running pneumatic props for 3 years now, and most of which I've planned out myself, so I haven't really learnt much on controlling them, right now I usually go from a air tank/compressor, to a solenoid valve (which is attached to a simple on/off switch circuit I made, to the prop, and that's it. And I have multiple props running off the same compressor/tank on different circuits.

So too my question, am I missing something in the setup? Because the only way to stop the air flow is to exhaust the tank by releasing pressure, then regulating pressure everytime. Otherwise the prop will be in the down position, but having all the air going out of the exhaust in the solenoid... Wasting air! So how do I solve this? Let's say I have 3 props hooked up the same compressor, and they are spaced apart from each other. When one prop goes on and off, it still has air to the solenoid, since the solenoids are always open one way or another (or at least the one's I have) it will keep wasting air in the down position. How do I fix this, should by in-line stoppers? Are the valves that can complete stop air flow in anyway???
If this makes sense to anyone, please help :)
Thanks!!

·
Registered
126 Posts
Sounds to me like you need different valves , instead of solinoids. Yon need a valve that lets air in when powered and lets air out when power is taken away. Right now your trapping air in the lines with no exhaust. There is a pneumatic tutorial on here somewhere I remember seeing it. Do a search on pneumatic valves .

·
Registered
383 Posts