Haunt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 160 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How soon do people start putting up Halloween decorations?

I always do Christmas lights but this is my first year doing anything for Halloween. I have some basic props in mind ... No shooting cannons or flying spiders yet for 2012.

·
Muddled Moderator
28,211 Posts
The earlier you put decorations out, the more you have to worry about damage from weather or vandalism. How weather proof are your props and decorations. Most of our stuff goes out on the day of Halloween. There are forum members who have decorations up in August. Most setup at various times in October.

·
Registered
529 Posts
I start the graveyard in the beginning of October. The rest goes out a week later or so. My props won't be damaged by rain, but the wind usually does a fair bit of damage.

·
Pumpkin Hill Gravekeeper
1,536 Posts
I also start my graveyard the first weekend in October. By the third weekend I have pretty much everything out and the lighting in place. Although any Haunter will tell you that we tweak until nightfall of the 31st. My props are pretty hardy so, short of a lightning bolt, are weatherproof. I build them tough.

·
Slowly Losing My Mind
2,820 Posts
Unfortunately I set up most things the day of and tare everything down Halloween night. It stinks that way but its reassuring to know that I won't have something stolen, vandalized or weather damaged.

·
Official HF Jerk v1.0
3,104 Posts
At my old house, I started setup around the first week of September, and would still be putting things together on Halloween day. My lighting and sound didn't go up until the day before or the day of, because I didn't want weather damage, vandalism or thievery to play a part in my Halloween.

At this house, my wife has made it quite plain that if I start setting up before the 15th of October, she will be a (black) widow. So I'm probably not going to set up too early.

·
Registered
1,031 Posts